The scents and sounds of home

I came home from work around 6 today, a little earlier than I usually do. Its been a couple of weeks since I have been home at this time, and the first thing to hit my senses as I entered was the scent of the agarbathi that had been lit along with the evening villaku. And I felt a wave of comfort wash over me as I took a deep breath and enjoyed one of the scents that makes my home.

I started thinking about it and I realised that apart from all the physical objects and all the memories a house holds, its also the scents and sounds that you associate with a place being home.

Home for me, is the scent of my thatha’s cologne everytime I lean in to kiss his cheek… the sound of my patti’s voice enquiring almost everytime I walk in, if I want something to eat…the smell of oil, shikha and samabarani on a lazy sunday morning… the not-so-distant sounds of the traffic all night since we live on an arterial road in the city…the footsteps of my appa as he walks in and hangs his keys noisily near the front door…the mild tinkling sounds that follows my mother wherever she goes because of the key bunch on her hips, and the bangles and anklets that she wears all the time…the slamming of my kid sister’s room door when she’s angry with me…the sound of her excited ‘Duuude, guess what?’ when she has something to say…the scent of my mother’s cooking wafting through the rooms… the sweaty smell of my cousin as he walks in from school…the sound of my father talking loudly on his cellphone…the scent of the flowers that bloom in our garden veranda…

So tell me, what are the scents and sounds that make up your home? šŸ™‚

___________________________________________________________________

*Agarbathi/samabarani – Incense used for worship and for perfuming one’s body and hair; *Villaku – The evening lamp lit in the puja room; *Thatha – Grandfather, *Patti – Grandmother; *Shikha/shikakai – A fruit dried and made into a powder and used as a shampoo and conditioner.

9 thoughts on “The scents and sounds of home

  1. I enjoyed reading this post! It made me think about the scents and sounds of home that I miss when I’m away šŸ™‚

  2. Oh the smell of maa ke haath ka khaana!! I don’t know if I’ve even noticed any of the other smells in my parents’ house, ever!

    Your post has made me so nostalgic……arghh can’t wait until December to go visit!

  3. Spot on!! Just realized that what you said so very true! But I have never consciously thought about it.

    On the top of my head, the whistle of a pressure cooker, the ticking of our ancient wall clock, the sweet smell of those ever-present flowers and most importantly the murmur of conversations happening, which reassures me that I’m not alone in this whole wide world! šŸ™‚

    Love your post! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

