Brown rice with mixed veggies 



Brown rice with kale, carrots and peas


The husband and I recently purchased a bag of brown rice when we were on a “healthy food” obsession. We came home and cooked it only to find we didn’t like it’s very clunky texture. Unlike basmati, it doesn’t give off a nice aroma either. So then our cooking experiments turned to trying to make yummy dishes using this rather bland raw material 🙂 

I made this last week and I think it could potentially turn into a regular weeknight meal 🙂 

What you need: 

  • A few cloves of garlic, chopped to a fine dice
  • A cup of brown rice 
  • Any vegetables that you think go together – all chopped to a fine dice. I used onions, carrots, peas and kale. Green peppers, cauliflower or potatoes would also go really well with this dish. 
  • A tbsp of coriander powder
  • Generous helping of finely diced coriander leaves 
  • Chilli flakes
  • Salt 
  • A couple of spoons of oil. 

Here’s what I did: 

  • Heat a spoon of oil, add the garlic and sauté until it turns fragrant. 
  • Add a cup of brown rice to this and fry for a minute. Then add about 10 cups of water and salt to taste. Bring this to a rolling boil and let it boil for about 30 minutes, uncovered, stirring occasionally. After 30 mins, check every few mins if the rice is done. Once it’s done, pour off all the excess water and close the vessel quickly with a lid. Place it on a counter and let the rice steam for about ten mins more in its own heat. 

I’ve found this to be the best way to cook brown rice because each grain retains its shape and it turns out incredibly fluffy. Cooking the rice with garlic also adds some great flavor. 

  • While the rice is getting done, heat a spoon of oil, add the onions and sauté until it turns translucent. 
  • To this, add the carrots, peas, and kale. Add a heaping tbsp of coriander powder, chillie flakes for spice and salt to taste. 
  • Let the veggies cook till they still have a bite to them. It’s important to not make it mushy. 
  • Once the rice is done, gently add the vegetables to it. Add a generous amount of finely chopped coriander (this really adds a kick of flavor) 
  • Mix them all together gently, so nothing gets mashed up.

We ate this on its own. Honestly, it is so loaded up with veggies that you don’t need anything on the side. That being said, I had it for lunch the next day with chips and it was quite yummy! 🙂   The carrots and peas lend a sweetness to the dish that offsets the slight bitterness of kale. It definitely helps that it looks gorgeously colorful and you know it’s a healthy meal 🙂 On a side note, this would be equall delicious if you substituted the brown rice for quinoa. 

Ever since I set up my own kitchen, I’ve become obsessed with cooking. I spend hours pouring over food blogs and planning recipes in my head. My family gets spammed by food pictures quite regularly. I figured it’s time some of these recipes made it to the blog! So here’s to the beginning of my kitchen adventures! 🙂 

14 thoughts on “Brown rice with mixed veggies 

  1. Looks yum. I saw the post on reader yesterday and thought the same. Happened to see it again on reader today and again thought the same and read the post now and so thought to tell you that as i was thinking the same again(that it looks yummy). I just don’t know why i love all these food blogs and pictures of food this much when i don’t cook or eat out!. I know, i’m a bit crazy.

  2. Your delightful post has inspired me enough to try brown rice. I have been juggling with the idea of trying them for a while & your post seems to have given me the needed nudge 😀

Leave a Reply

